S.M.A.R.T. Goal Setting: How to Achieve your Goals (1 min read)

SMART stands for Specific Measurable Achievable Realistic and Time. When setting a goal (long-term or short-term) it needs to be specific, the more specific the better. For example one of my goals this year is to get down to a BMI of 20%. Measurable for my goal means to be able to check in weekly (weekly weigh ins) and see if I am coming any closer to my BMI goal. If your goals are more mental try keeping a journal to track yourself. Is your goal achievable? It is great to set high goals but…you want to be able to check it off. Something that would be a good example of this is if my goal was to get a BMI of 20% by tomorrow…probably not going to happen. Which brings us to being realistic.

If my goal were to get down to 5% BMI that would be extremely unrealistic (not to mention unhealthy). Finally, there is time, set a reasonable amount of time in which you want to achieve your goal. I have this year goals and five-year goals. For this year goals, I wrote down when I need to start and then times of when I want to be seeing results. To help yourself achieve your goals try not only writing them down but place them where you can see them every day (be reminded of what you are capable of). I placed my goals on my vanity mirror and on my fridge (not to sound narcissistic but I do look at my reflection multiple times a day and I have to eat so…).

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

